Home > Leadership, Random Rants > midweek musings on how to treat people that you’re trying to win business from

midweek musings on how to treat people that you’re trying to win business from

Last week I had a message that someone had called my office asking for me. They declined to give a reason for their call.

The next day they called again, and then again. I knew by now who the company was and, having looked them up on the web, knew that what they were offering was of no interest to my business, so when I got yet another message I rang them to ask them not to waste their time and money.

The man I spoke to promised to pass on the word to his colleague as soon as he was off the phone but, later that day, I got another message and so I emailed them.

Guess what, they called again and so I phoned back. The person I spoke to was extremely patronising and I began to lose my temper with him. What part of please stop ringing me was causing him a problem?

His response was to tell me “Oh shut up” and to hang up.

This is a marketing company who want me to use their services. As of this morning I had no immediate need to use their services; as of this afternoon I never will.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

