Home > Leadership, The Monday Musings Column > making best use of theory and practice

making best use of theory and practice

 

People often seem to get hung up about the two, but whilst they are different there should be no separation; we make progress through the way that we integrate them.

Over the years I have been fortunate to have had a lot of money spent on training me and I still maintain that investment as often as I can. Most of the training that I have received has been timely and relevant to the job I was doing at the time, although I can only remember two jobs where I was trained before being let loose. In most jobs I learned as I went along, but formal training courses helped develop my skills.

The balance between practical experience and the theoretical side is important; learning the theory helps you to make sense of what you do, how you do it and how you can do it better. The more practical experience you have the easier it becomes to grasp the theory: There is a mutual relationship that is important to nurture.

Whilst training costs money and resource, well timed and well targeted training will pay for itself through not just improved performance, but a greater contribution to the thinking and planning process that leads to executing tasks.

Developing ourselves and our teams should be at the top of our agenda; theory and practice should go hand in hand to make that development work best.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

